All Juiced Up

juicewords

We bought a juicer about a week ago (a reasonably priced one from Wal-Mart, not a major investment), and I have been obsessed with it since we got it, making juice 2-3 times a day. It tastes good, but the way it makes my stomach feel is what keeps me doing it over and over again. When I feel the juice hit my stomach it instantly feels better. It’s like I had a stomach ache that I didn’t even know about, but then I drink the juice and it feels better. (That’s probably weird, but that’s just how it feels!) I’m not doing a juice fast or cleanse, just adding it into my day when I can. I feel like the more gently and subtly I can add in healthy choices, the more likely I am to stick with them over time. I didn’t really even want a juicer to be “healthy”, just to be able to have some fresh juice! But I can certainly see the benefits of consuming about a million times more nutrients than I was before.

I’m not doing the scary GREEN juice yet (well there were a couple…), but I have tried adding several different veggies to my fruit juice. So far, I have only made a couple of varieties that I really didn’t like, but my husband liked those so I’m going to include all the different recipes we’ve made this week. I’ve come to find that I really, REALLY don’t like cucumber, which is too bad because they’re cheap and they make a lot of juice! I’ve also come to find that I can add a carrot to almost any variety without a negative taste factor. Sometimes I even miss it if it’s not there!

You should also know that I did not feel one way or another about juice this time last week. “Juicing” was not even on my radar as something that I would adopt into my daily habits. I thought it would be a fun way to get a few more veggies and fruits into my body, and it definitely is. But it makes me feel good too, which I did not expect at all!

So here they are, 9 recipes for a first-time juicer:

The Cherry Limeade (My VERY FAVORITE!)

2 limes , 2 apples , + a couple handfuls of cherries 

cherry  The Rise and Shine

1 grapefruit , 1 lime , 1 orange , 1 carrot , 1 apple , a few strawberries  

grapefruitThe Gross Green One

½ a cucumber , handful spinach , ½ pineapple (peeled) , 1 banana

pineapple

The Cuckoo Cuke-oo

 ½ cucumber , 1 orange , 5-ish strawberries

cucumber

The Tolerable Liquid

½ cucumber , 1 lemon (peeled) , 7-10 strawberries , 2 apples  

lemon2

The Strawberry Lemonade

1 lemon (peeled) , 1 apple , 5-ish strawberries , ½ a carrot  

sberry2

The Almost-Smoothie

1 grapefruit , ½ a carrot , a few strawberries , 1 nectarine , 1 banana

carrot

The Grape Fusion

1 cup red grapes , 1 apple , about ¼ cup green grapes

 grapes

The Liquid Lettuce (It really tastes pretty good!)

1 apple , 2 oranges , 1 lemon , 1 carrot , 2 handfuls romaine lettuce 

lettuce

The Big Orange

1 grapefruit , 2 oranges , 1 carrot , 1 nectarine , 1 apricot

orange

All the juices are much tastier served with lots of ice and a straw.

Do you make your own juice? What’s your favorite combination?

2 comments

  1. cookdinetinker · June 7, 2013

    My favourite juice is a green one, they’re not so scary. 🙂
    1 apple, handful of spinach, 1 stalk of celery, 1 tiny bit of ginger, 1/4 of a small lemon, cucumber(as much as you’d like), and if you’re not too keen on sour drinks you can also add 5 green grapes for some sweetness.
    A few vegetables, a bit of fruit. It’s a great mix, and it is also a really good way to kickstart your day.
    I just felt the need to share this 🙂

    Have fun with your juicer!

    • ajanka1 · June 7, 2013

      Hey, thanks so much for sharing your recipe! I’m pretty sure I’ll get there with the green juice, but I’m just eeeeasing into it, lol. Thanks for visiting!

Leave a Reply

