It’s Resolution Reflection Time

All right, I know that this is not the New Year, nor is it my birthday. It is a good time of year for reflecting on New Year’s resolutions, though! It’s almost 1/3 of the way through the year, so it’s time to check up on the goals I have set.
012                                                           It’s going to be a banner year folks.

I normally do not participate in resolution-ing, but in December I decided that 2013 was going to be the Greatest. Year. Ever. And I wanted to get my main goals down on paper. I only wrote down 3 big ideas that I wanted to make a priority:

Numero Uno: Do the work it takes to make my business (Chain Four) work.

Numero Dos: (Re)Start going to church very regularly, preferably every Sunday.

Numero Tres: Write a book with my husband.

Of course with each goal comes excuses (some VALID), but today I am not sharing my excuses, only my progress:

Numero Uno: Progressing nicely. I still have SO MUCH to learn and do, but I am making an effort on most days of the week to grow my business and put work into it. I ditched my old blog and started this pretty new one. I have been active on my business Facebook page, Twitter, and Pinterest. I have written patterns, held a giveaway, and gained over 100 people who at the very least, like what I do. I am happy with the progress so far, BUT. But my work is going to have to start translating into sales so that I can keep up all the good work. Some ideas for making the monies are; participating in craft fairs, taking sample books to some targeted locations (i.e. My midwife’s office), and diversifying what I offer. I have a good start, but I need to bring it on home.

Numero Dos: We’re doing better with this one! We still miss every so often, but in spite of not finding a church that meets all our requirements, we are still going *most* Sundays. I grew up going to church 3 times a week (at LEAST) so I don’t know how it was so easy to fall out of that habit. But we are going to try very hard to re-establish it! Being in a community of people who serve others with the goal of sharing how much Christ loves us is really a top priority for us as Christians/people/parents.

Numero Tres: Eh, this one has only been touched on. Nathan and I have discussed some neat story ideas. I have done just a little bit of free writing (which was surprisingly fun). Oh, and I follow a BUNCH of amazing authors on twitter. That’s gotta count for something, right?

Did you make any New Year’s resolutions this year? Have you accomplished any of your goals or made any progress? Did you ditch your resolutions 2 weeks after you made them? (Don’t worry, I totally understand if you did ;))

2 comments

  1. Alli · April 25, 2013

    I am so horrible with resolutions. I make them with such vigor and enthusiam, then drop them like they were never there. I’m glad to see you are making progress.

    • ajanka1 · April 26, 2013

      I’m the same way! I love to start projects. Once I get an idea in my head my enthusiasm just explodes for a month or two. Then I’m on to the next thing… Usually. (My book writing idea is already fading! But if my husband is still into it, we’ll probably do National Novel Writing Month- NaNoWriMo- in November.)

Leave a Reply

