Identifying Ideas and Inspiration

Though this week has been largely unproductive in that I haven’t actually produced much, it has been an idea week. Wait, did I say that last week? Well, it’s true of this week too! It has been a week where my brain keeps rolling out new ideas that blink into my brain, then straight back out. After I read this post over at Modernette this week, I started trying to pay attention to my ideas and keep a record of them. On Ashley’s suggestion I downloaded the Evernote app, which I really love and also recommend to anyone who is creative or busy as an awesome way to track your brilliant ideas before you forget them! Before, I used Notes on my iPhone, but this is way, way better, AND it syncs to my desktop, which I LOVE.

Paying attention to all the thoughts in my brain is kind of like work. I have a lot of thoughts, and lots of them are probably best left to float away with the wind. Like that one time I thought it would be a great idea to cut all my hair off to an extremely short bob. Or that other time I bought an entire inventory of Mary Kay makeup to sell when I had never sold anything before in my life. Yeah, those ideas could have kept on floating… BUT. But there are some that I should write down right away! If I wake up and have a dream fresh in my brain, I take the two minutes to write down everything I can remember about it. I had one last week that involved amazingly fast electro-deer. That is the kind of stuff that needs to be recorded for all posterity. Or at least for my own enjoyment. Now I want to try a sketch or two of this dark, but really cool dream. There are also the blog post ideas, the sketch ideas, the crochet ideas, the to do lists, the household ideas…. There’s a lot that I don’t have to try (and fail) to remember now, because I am writing it all down.

In addition to writing down the thoughts that naturally pass through my brain, I’m taking pictures and paying attention to my surroundings to find inspiration. There is so much going on all the time that when I’m not careful to notice and keep up with them somehow, all the ideas and inspiration just dissolve with the week. There is inspiration and there are ideas EVERYwhere! Sometimes it’s just a matter of making an intentional decision to find the inspiration, and to pay attention to what’s around.

5513859956_d9388fc874_m

5526152067_a0fbcd3d54_m

See even the last cookie, or a field of annoying weeds can provide inspiration for something! (PS These are old watercolors of mine. I really need to make some new art!)

Are you identifying your ideas, or are you letting them slip away? Are you careful to notice the inspiring things around you, or are you like me sometimes, forgetting to pay attention? How are you recording all your brilliance?

4 comments

  1. Indierockkid.com · April 6, 2013

    Those watercolors are awesome – I especially like the one of the weeds:-) I’m lame at writing down my ideas. My desk is literally a mess of post-it notes with half scribbled words of when inspiration hits me. At the same time I’m too lazy to tap these ideas down onto a program or something. Go figure ‘eh? 🙂 x

  2. ajanka1 · April 6, 2013

    Hey! Thanks! That watercolor of the weeds is a personal favorite. Sometimes it’s the simplest things that turn out the best. 🙂 Post-its and lists are great! I still have them everywhere too 🙂 And I am definitely too lazy to go back and put all my written ideas into a program, but for my new ones, I love being able to type them out on my computer and still have them with me on my phone. The interaction between desktop and phone is what sealed the deal for using an app. I’m finding myself writing more ideas down throughout the week than I normally would, so it’s working for me!

    Hope you’re enjoying yourself in London! ❤

  3. Alli · April 8, 2013

    I hate when you get a burst of inspiration and it runs out of your brain faster than a cheetah. I also get my best ideas in the shower too, where there is no where to write anything down.

    I love the evernote app too!

    Cheers.

    • ajanka1 · April 8, 2013

      Darn those shower ideas!! They go straight down the drain with the water sometimes, lol!

      Thanks for stopping by! ❤

Leave a Reply

