TGIF. No really.

If I’m being honest here, this week was LONG. I cried a lot. I’m a bit emo lately, and here at the end of winter I’m especially… just blah. I’m ready for warmer weather, I’m ready for a vacation, and I’m ready for our electric bill to cost less than a mortgage payment. I had several moments of actual joy this week, though, so I thought I should share the good stuff–the stuff that got me through this weird week.

cheer_up_emo_kid_bumper_sticker-rf3f43d57667f4bef97176edcc7cdd654_v9wht_8byvr_512

My sweet Toby turned 5 this week. I can hardly believe he’s so grown up now. While this was melancholy, seeing his excitement added unique joy to my week.

I made the most beautiful coupons for my business. I drew them out by hand, took a picture, and enhanced them a bit in Photoshop, and they turned out so so lovely, not to toot my own horn or anything.

001

WE GOT OUR TAX RETURN. This means that we can afford to take a couple of trips this year, and hopefully celebrate mine and Nathan’s tenth wedding anniversary in a big way!

I got to buy new stationary and pens. I am just looking for people to send mail to now. If you want mail from me, let me know!

I cleaned our disgusting bathroom so well that I was proud of myself. I even lit a candle in there.

I watched 2 pretty great movies with my family. We watched Hotel Transylvania and Hugo. I hadn’t actually sat down and enjoyed a movie with my hubs and kids in months. It was great to curl up and try to enjoy what’s hopefully the last of winter. And I would solidly recommend either of those movies.

I listened to my older two kids talk about Easter with excitement and anticipation, and it made me happy and proud to know that they value this most important day of our faith for more than just the “fun” stuff like eggs and candy and bunnies.

I got cupcakes from my favorite cupcakery. I just ate a dreamsicle flavored one!

I watched this video this week several times and couldn’t dismiss it. It had a profound impact on me, which is hard to articulate. The words from Amanda about “seeing” people moved me and encouraged me, and I hope it will do the same for you.

Be inspired and encouraged yourself today. (Gah! That video should take care of that!) Even though my week felt like a fail at times, there were plenty of things that apparently went right. Life doesn’t always feel great at every moment, but it surely is great and magical and there are gifts in every day.  Like tonight at supper, my daughter put a breadstick on her finger and exclaimed that her finger was really long. Also, earlier today she sang, “You better not pout, you better not cry, you better not touch anybody in the eye”. I think I’ll use her words as a guide for my weekend. No more pouting, no more crying, and I might even try really hard not to poke anyone’s eyes. Instead I think I’ll try to focus on all the good that’s going on all around me and be thankful.

5 comments

  1. jackie jade · March 10, 2013

    good job trying to keep your spirits up. those coupons look great. thanks for stopping by my blog.
    jackiejade.blogspot.com

    • ajanka1 · March 20, 2013

      Oh I just rescued this comment from the spam folder! Thanks so much for your kind comment!

  2. Annika · March 11, 2013

    Those vouchers ARE lovely! :o) Thanks for sharing the video, she seems like a wonderful person and I admire her for her trust in people and her trust in herself. Also, thanks for sharing all your positivity and making me stop and think what I’m grateful for right now. Hope you have a wonderful week!

    • Annika · March 11, 2013

      Oops, smiley fail. It was supposed to look like this: 🙂

    • ajanka1 · March 11, 2013

      I like your first smiley :o) It’s like a clown. Regarding the video, obviously I don’t pretend everyone could or should do what she’s doing, but it’s pretty neat to see how relationships and connections have the potential to change industries and lives. They really always have, haven’t they? And I’m trying to be positive. It really seems to helps to write it all down and be able to see the things I’m grateful for. Hope your week is wonderful too!

Leave a Reply

